The Sutherland Shire's original school - est 1884, nestled on the shore of the Georges River surrounded by heritage gum trees.
Como Public School was the first official school in the Sutherland Shire. Officially opened on Wednesday April 16, 1884 as 'Worinora School' under the control of Mr John Halsted with an enrolment of 85 children.
The name Worinora was changed to Como on 9th May 1884 by the Department of Public Instruction.
The school site had been leased for a two year period from 1st January 1884 from the Holt-Sutherland Estate. The school was closed in October 1885 after construction of the Como-Sutherland section of the railway line was completed and the workers and their families moved away. In January 1886 the Department failed in it's attempt to gain an extension of the expired 2 year lease.
The present Como Public School was established on 29th January 1921.
Mr Frank Middenway was the Principal until April 1924. Enrolments reached 68 within weeks of the school's opening with children coming by boat from East Menai (now Illawong), and from 'The Bonnet' (Como West), Como Village, Greenpoint, Coronation Bay, Oyster Bay and the area later to be known as Jannali.
In 1988 Como Public School Parents & Citizens Association published a booklet "COMO PUBLIC SCHOOL - A History of Two Schools".This informative publication gives a detailed account of the school's history including many photographs, anecdotes and quotes from past teachers, students and community members.The publication is available for purchase through the school for $15.00.